Le Side Topsy Tail

antonio-marras-beauty-autumn-fall-winter-2013-mfw76 antonio-marras-beauty-autumn-fall-winter-2013-mfw71 antonio-marras-beauty-autumn-fall-winter-2013-mfw75

I was catching up on some Autumn/Winter 2013 collections and beauty on Fashionising this past weekend and paused for a full minute when I saw the close-ups of Antonio Marras‘ hair in his show.  Being a child of the 90’s, let me tell you- topsy tails were allllllll the rage for a short while. And this got me excited.

In terms of my personal hair styling timeline, topsy tails fell somewhere after flamboyant bows {maybe ages 3-6} {thanks mom} and before spending endless hours in front of the mirror crimping {aka frying} each strand of hair {what a dooozy… not to mention I looked like a doofus… but damn I thought I killed it in the game of hair at age 14}. So around age 10 was where it was at. A slick take on the pony tail that my prepubescent friends and I sported while coordinating Lip Smackers.

With a fresh new take on 90’s fashion en vogue now, about two decades later, it only makes sense hair and beauty are similarly trending {because really, did the chicken or the egg come first?}. I am kind of obsessing over how Antonio reinvented this 90’s trend on the runway in 2013, bringing it back on the side {literally}, which adds a little edge to an otherwise preppy style. I am inspired and definitely plan to start rocking this side topsy tail in the upcoming months, as is during the day, and possibly a little embellished for night.

Not going to lie though- I am happy this hair style resurfaced, and not others of that time, such as, butterfly clips and bowl cuts. Just saying.

About Alyson

Fashion Blog
This entry was posted in Beauty, Obsession of the Day, Runway and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

