DIY: Wine {Charms + Name} Tags

Instead of using wine glass charms at your holiday party, mix it up this year by dipping the bottom of your wine glasses into chalkboard paint, let dry and allow guests to personalize their own glasses. Simple, easy & different.

About Alyson

Fashion Blog
This entry was posted in Accessories, D.I.Y., Gift Ideas, How To: and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to DIY: Wine {Charms + Name} Tags

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

  2. mademoisellediy says:

    This idea is just so cool, never saw that before, but now i’m gonna try this =) i have also a diy blog and i would be pleased if you would have a look =)

    http://mademoisellediy.wordpress.com/

  3. melanie says:

    this is very cute but an easier way to mark your glass is with a sharpie. write your name anywhere on the glass with a sharpie and when you’re washing them, all you need is a wet sponge or paper towel and a teeny tiny bit of pressure and the marker comes right off.

  4. Annie Raborn says:

    Love it

  5. Nieves says:

    Great idea! I’ll do the same.

  6. Susan says:

    i wonder if these glasses can be put in the dishwasher after they have been dipped in the paint. . anyone know?

  7. Renee says:

    Bake them after they dry and they won’t chip

    • Kait says:

      Bake them at what temp? And for how long ?

      • Amy says:

        Put the glasses in a COOL oven on a cookie sheet. upside down. Make sure the paint isnt touching ANYTHING. Then, turn on the oven to 350. Set timer for 30 minutes. Then, turn off the oven and let the glasses cool until the oven is COMPLETELY cooled down. Remove and try not to use the glasses for a few days so the paint will really set. And thats it!!! I do this all the time with regular and glitter paint. I sell them and no one has complained about chipping yet.

  8. Leslie Keeler says:

    I got my paint today and dipped my glasses and am just waiting for them to dry! I’m glad I came back here because I just noticed the “baking” part. These are too cool! I was wondering about the dishwasher thing too and may just try it in a few days, though I assume hand washing is best. Yay! 🙂

    • Ashlee says:

      I too was wondering about the dishwasher after baking. Would you mind posting on here and letting me know how it turns out after you try it? Would love to try use this as a gift if they can be washed in the dishwasher!

      • Amy says:

        You can put them in the dishwasher if you cure them (in oven) but they wont last too long. The heat from the dishwasher will mess with the curing that you did. Best to just rinse them in the sink…

  9. Jai says:

    What would be the process for baking them? Temperature, length of time, bake them on what?

  10. Janet says:

    Did anyone get the temp on these?

  11. Kat says:

    How did you let them dry without paint getting everywhere? I am making these for gifts this week! Can’t wait to try this!

  12. Linda says:

    Thanks! I was wondering how the paint would stay on after I did this! I’m glad I read the responses before I went ahead and did these. Gonna get started right now

  13. Darlene says:

    I wrapped some blue painter’s tape around the stem because I am not very neat, and that gave me a nice clean line.

  14. nina says:

    Do I dry them on parchment ?

  15. cristina says:

    I love this idea. Made them last night for Xmas gifts!!! tonight I will do the baking part!! Thanks so much for sharing your idea!!

  16. tonya says:

    you can use painter’s tape for a clean line then mold reynolds wrap around the cup to keep the glass clean. remove Reynolds wrap and tape when completely dry.

  17. Lisa says:

    I love this idea!

  18. Anna-Katrin says:

    There is a brand of chalkboard paint meant for this purpose that is dishwasher safe. You can find it in some craft stores or on Amazon:

  19. Margie says:

    Can you use any kind of paint if you just want to have colored stems?

  20. Sarah says:

    Hi, I’m wondering if the paint has to have air dried before putting them in the oven? I would like to do this with some girlfriends, and would be great if we can make them and send them home with everyone in the same night??

  21. gela taylor says:

    I used a heat gun also to “just set” the paint before turning them upside down

Leave a comment